50 Nifty – Vermont

This is a post in my 50 Nifty series, in which I’m reading through 50 books that embody each of the 50 United States. Find out why I’m doing this and which books I’m reading when (so you can read along) by checking out my first 50Nifty post, or else browse all 50Nifty posts by clicking here!

The Secret History, Donna Tartt 

secret history

I listened to this mammoth of a novel over a couple of months during the summer, and while it was engaging, I felt like I might have enjoyed it more had it been a bit shorter. It’s the story of a group of college students who are part of an elite degree plan that isolates them from the rest of the college. The students get involved in some dark schemes and the book describes the character changes leading up to the climactic events and the aftermath of those events. Tartt does a great job describing the characters and building their personalities throughout the novel, and I very much enjoyed the audiobook version, with distinct voices for each character, but I did think the book was too long overall.

That said, I will admit that it was a great pick for the 50Nifty list. So much of the book dealt with the state of Vermont; its inhabitants and geography, the relationships between locals and the college students, etc., that I felt like it couldn’t have just taken place somewhere else.

#50Niftyin15 – See you next week!

50niftyin15image

1 Comment

Filed under 50nifty, place, recent reads

One response to “50 Nifty – Vermont

  1. Pingback: 50 Nifty in 15 | wert and art

Leave a Reply

