50 Nifty – Oregon

This is a post in my 50 Nifty series, in which I’m reading through 50 books that embody each of the 50 United States. Find out why I’m doing this and which books I’m reading when (so you can read along) by checking out my first 50Nifty post, or else browse all 50Nifty posts by clicking here!

No one belongs here more than you. Stories by Miranda July 

no one belongs

This collection of short stories was overall not my favorite. There were a couple of inclusions that I did enjoy (Mon Plaisir, for example), but there were more that seemed forced somehow, as if July needed to seem artsy or something and so included too many absurd events or details. Overall the collection was about lonely or solitary individuals searching for connection with others in meaningful ways, but some of these stories played out better than others.

As far as the 50Nifty list is concerned, I don’t remember much taking place particularly in Oregon (besides one of the stories), so I’d be interested to read other books that take place there to see if they’d be a better fit for this list. When I picture Oregon (I’ve never been), I imagine lots of outdoor activities, ruggedness, and Pendleton shirts, all of which were lacking in this volume. Any alternative Oregon book suggestions?

#50Niftyin15 – See you next week!

50niftyin15image

4 Comments

Filed under 50nifty, place, recent reads

4 responses to “50 Nifty – Oregon

  1. BevMom

    I agree . Oregon? Illinois? Hawaii? And I felt like after a while they were a about the same person. Maybe it was because I felt the story style was so similar in the stories. After awhile, they ran together. But I have a feeling that if I wrote a lot I would have a certain style that would surface (Dave Barry, etc.). But at least because it wasn’t too long of a book I could get in some of my more typical summer reading. Yea!

    • Rachel

      I agree that the stories ran together because of writing style, and I also agree that I’d probably be guilty of the same thing! I’m interested in what your other “typical” summer reading has been…

      • BevMom

        Some Alexander McCall Smith (#1 Ladies Detective Agency), maybe a James Patterson ( a Micheal Bennett mystery), a John Grisham or a Louise Penny (Inspector Gamache). If a detective or policeman is a really nice guy, I usually like the book 🙂

  2. Pingback: 50 Nifty in 15 | wert and art

Leave a Reply

