50 Nifty – Minnesota

This is a post in my 50 Nifty series, in which I’m reading through 50 books that embody each of the 50 United States. Find out why I’m doing this and which books I’m reading when (so you can read along) by checking out my first 50Nifty post, or else browse all 50Nifty posts by clicking here!

Betsy and Tacy go Downtown, Maud Hart Lovelace

betsyandtacy

In this installment of the “Betsy-Tacy” series, Betsy and Tacy and two of their other friends are allowed to venture alone to their small Minnesota city’s downtown for the first time, and the book recounts their experiences and mild adventures along the way. This children’s story was maybe something I wish I’d read when I was young, but I don’t feel the need to go read all the rest of the books in the series.

I do think it was a good choice for the 50Nifty project, though, not just because it adds variety to the reading list, but because there’s a real focus on place in the book: sledding in the winter, climbing big trees in the fall, discussing the river that eventually runs to the Mississippi, etc., and I felt some commonalities from my own Midwest childhood, although the book is set in the early 20th century.

#50Niftyin15 – See you next week!

50niftyin15image

2 Comments

Filed under 50nifty, place, recent reads

2 responses to “50 Nifty – Minnesota

  1. BevMom

    I felt a kinship to the girls as I remembered making friends with one girl I thought was a snob (it was my wrong thinking). And I remembered going to my first live play in downtown Detroit and the utter THRILL of a live performance. So, I got more into this book than I thought I would! I think it would be a good book to read aloud to Zoe and Emma.

  2. Pingback: 50 Nifty in 15 | wert and art

Leave a Reply

