50 Nifty – Maine

This is a post in my 50 Nifty series, in which I’m reading through 50 books that embody each of the 50 United States. Find out why I’m doing this and which books I’m reading when (so you can read along) by checking out my first 50Nifty post, or else browse all 50Nifty posts by clicking here!

Carrie, Stephen King

carrie

—My mom offered to write a note excusing me from blogging yesterday as I was out of state visiting her, but I told her it was not necessary. Thanks for your non-demanding understanding.—

I listened to Carrie as an audio book while driving to and from Ohio a few weeks ago, and honestly, I was a little bored by it. Maybe it was because I knew the premise already (although I haven’t seen the movie), so nothing was very shocking or scary. I almost hate to say that I was a little bored because Stephen King’s On Writing is a favorite book of mine. Maybe if I could have read the book instead of listening to it I would have liked it a little more, because the narrator of this particular version also seemed to read very slowly, so the whole thing took longer than it should have. King does describe some of the scenes in vivid detail, though, so there were moments when I was fully engaged. I haven’t read much of King’s other work, so I don’t know if this is representative of him or not, but he’s a giant in the genre for a reason, right?

If you don’t know the basic storyline, Carrie White is a high school girl who is learning to control her telepathic powers, using them eventually to teach her classmates (who have been bullying and teasing her) lessons. The story takes place in a small town in Maine, and because King so often writes about that region, I think choosing one of his books is an apt choice for the 50Nifty list, even if this particular story could have been Anywhere, U.S.A.

I’m interested to hear from others who have read more of King’s work; do you love it? Hate it? Feel indifferent? Why?

#50Niftyin15 – See you next week!

50niftyin15image

1 Comment

Filed under 50nifty, place, recent reads

One response to “50 Nifty – Maine

  1. Pingback: 50 Nifty in 15 | wert and art

Leave a Reply

