what to do with leftover coffee

Some of you might be thinking, “Leftover coffee? I didn’t know such a thing existed.” But it does, and while I (usually) stop short of reheating it in the microwave,* there are a couple of good (and I do mean good) ways to use up the rest of the pot (or the rest of the potent cup from a shop where they make it stronger than you do at home because you’re cheap and trying to make the bag of beans stretch as far as it will go). Ahem.

Case in point: I had a strong cup of coffee from an actual shop Tuesday and didn’t quite get to the bottom of it. Fast forward to yesterday afternoon when I needed a pick-me-up but was also looking for something to satisfy my sweet tooth. I wandered through the kitchen absentmindedly opening doors looking for something that would fulfill both cravings, when I remembered the partial cup of good coffee that was still in the car (I justified it by saying temperatures were low enough for it to have been refrigerated, but let’s be honest, that wasn’t the case at all. Please don’t use that fake excuse, though, if you’re drinking anything but black coffee). I also had a couple of scoops of vanilla ice cream, and with their powers combined (fist pump into the air!) I made a coffee milkshake.

captainplanet

If you’ve never tried it, it’s even more awesome than that picture (which I know is hard to imagine). Just put a couple scoops of vanilla ice cream and 1/3 cup or so of leftover (preferably strong) coffee into the blender and blend it. I’d just suggest starting with less coffee than you think you need and then adding it slowly after you’ve blended it a bit because the alternative (starting with too much coffee and subsequently trying to make the thin mixture thicker with more ice cream) can quickly snowball into way more ice cream than any one person should eat in a day (at which point I’d recommend finding a friend to share it with – they will be eternally grateful).

eternally grateful

The other suggestion for leftover coffee is to pour it into ice cube trays and use the future coffee ice cubes to make your iced coffee so it doesn’t get watered down as you drink it.

I realize that both of these tips may have been more helpful at the beginning of ice cream season (what others may refer to as summer) (who am I kidding? It’s never NOT “ice cream season” for me), but maybe you can just pin the Captain America picture to Pinterest and it will remind you to utilize these tips next May. And here’s hoping that if you, too, forget to toss the last of that cup of strong coffee, may you be rewarded with a coffee milkshake!

*Although I must admit that it has happened on several a desperate afternoon.**

**Can I say “several a desperate”? I originally wrote “many a desperate” but realized the practice isn’t common enough for me to merit the use of “many.” Well, either way you know what I meant.

Leave a comment

Filed under coffee, InPoWriMo, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

