30 Things: Final Update

Considering I’ve been 30 for almost 7 months now, I suppose it’s time for a final update to my 30-things list. Things I’ve finished appear in green below, yellow indicates “in progress,” and the things I never got around to are in red.

  1. Enjoy the last year of my 20s. Definitely feel good turning this one green!
  2. Walk the dog at least once/week. Well? We no longer have a dog, so this is now obsolete.
  3. Take a solo trip. Spent time in Chicago by myself in April 2013, and it was glorious.
  4. Sign up, train for, and compete in a race. Competed in my first ever triathlon. It was a disaster, but I finished!
  5. Spend time exploring Abilene. A bit, but could have been better…
  6. Send birthday cards to all immediate family –  19 of 20 done!(Confession – I don’t know how we forgot, but we missed my father in law’s b-day, and while he got an e-mail and phone call on the day of, he didn’t receive a card in the mail. I consider this a failure on my part.)
  7. Print out and frame at least 3 recent photos of loved ones. Yep!
  8. Submit an article/essay to be published. I entered a contest where the prize would include publication, so I’m counting this as done!
  9. Keep (however sparse) notes on the books I read/listen to this year. Yes – Derek got me a “reading journal” after I graduated in December and I’ve been doing a pretty good job keeping up with it so far (or at least I was for a while. Now? Not so much).
  10. Paint the front door a fun color. Y’all know this happened.
  11. Give a homemade gift. Yep!
  12. Create and print at least one photobook of life in the past 7 years. No…(and no excuse, either).
  13. Call my family more often. This one is so vague that it’s hard to judge – I haven’t been keeping track, really, but it feels like I have been. That counts, right?
  14. Go to the dentist. Yes! After almost 6 years, just 1 cavity! (I’m calling that a success.)
  15. Work on learning Spanish. Changed this to German, and yes, I definitely worked on it! 
  16. Organize our finances. I’m gonna say no on this one.
  17. Wear something that my kids will laugh at me for. Pretty sure that happens every day, but I haven’t bought something specifically for the shock value.
  18. Go to the First Monday flea market in Canton. Yep! We squeezed in a trip in October (or something).
  19. Write 50 blog posts. Yep!
  20. Take a road trip with Derek. Yep! Drove to Florida over Thanksgiving to see my brother and sis-in-law.
  21. Do a project I’ve pinned or marked in a magazine. Yep!
  22. Go somewhere I’ve never gone. Yep! (Over Thanksgiving for one, but also in Germany when we first arrived.)
  23. Do something that scares me. Moved to Germany for more than 4 months. I didn’t know much of the language and was responsible for college students. Definitely scary. 🙂
  24. Learn Photoshop basics. Worked on it a little, but still keeping this one yellow.
  25. Visit an old friend. Traveled to Baton Rouge to visit a high school friend finishing up a graduate degree in ceramics at LSU. It was short but sweet.
  26. Make banoffee pie. Yes! And it was good!
  27. Try out three new restaurants in Abilene. I’m sure I did, but I can’t name them right this second.
  28. Sell and give away some of our stuff (yard sale, consign, craigslist, etc.). Yes. If nothing else, I’ve craigslisted some furniture.
  29. Practice generosity and hospitality. Always a work in progress, so keeping this yellow to remind me to continue to strive for it!
  30. Write in my journal more often. Yes! That would be my private journal, the one that’s not on the Internet for the whole world to see.

Overall, not bad, and maybe I’ll start working on another list down the road.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 things, food, Germany, Leipzig, Travel

Leave a Reply

