Derek’s New BFF

In honor of the Oscars, and in part because I won’t be able to watch them this year (darn licensing restrictions for viewers outside the U.S.!), it’s time to tell the story of how Derek became BFFs with Bradley Cooper. I know, I know – how could I have not mentioned this earlier? Well, mostly because we signed a non-disclosure agreement with Brad* (yes, we’re on a first name basis), but what better time to tell the story than on Oscar night?

Our group recently went on an excursion to Berlin, and while we did many culturally and historically significant things, in order to not detract from those more educational aspects of the weekend, I’ll segregate posts and fill you in on those later. While researching what was happening in Berlin during our time there, I found out that the Berlinale film festival (Ber-lin-ah-lay – it has nothing to do with ale, even though we are in Germany) was starting that weekend. So I located where I thought the American Hustle premiere would be (this is a serious film festival, with several German premieres of big U.S. films, in addition to tons of other screenings around the city), and after dinner with our group, the 12 of us wandered over to the theater. There we found a red carpet set up with a crowd only 3-4 people deep, so we all scrunched in along it at various points and decided to wait for a bit to see who showed up.

Well, first there was someone I didn’t recognize but who had unbelievably tall stilettos:

IMG_4677

Seriously, how can you walk in those?

Then David O. Russell came by, although I am embarrassed to admit that I didn’t know what he looked like and so didn’t realize it was him in time, and therefore did not get a photo. And I call myself a movie fan…

And then people started screaming, “Bradley! Bradley!” and then a few moments later, “Christian! Christian!” and Bradley Cooper and Christian Bale came down the red carpet, shaking hands, taking selfies with cameras from the crowd, and signing autographs. (Here are the screen shots from the videos on my camera – no selfies or autographs for me.)

Screen Shot 2014-03-02 at 1.10.22 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-02 at 1.13.21 PM

It was all very fun, even though the crowd was pushing like crazy from behind; everyone trying to get close enough for a photo or an autograph.

Okay, you may be wondering when Derek and Bradley became BFFs. Well, when we caught up with everyone from our group later (who had all spread out to try to get the best view), we joked about wanting our encounter with fame to mean something (I heard people in the crowd yell things like, “We had a moment, Bradley! I know you felt it, too!” which was pretty funny). But Derek was very distinguished and thought about what Bradley Cooper might most like to hear (besides hundreds of girls screaming his name, that is), and so when Bradley Cooper was close enough, instead of a camera, Derek offered him his hand, saying, “I love your work.” Bradley shook it, looked back at Derek, and said, “Thanks.” And that, ladies and gentlemen, was the foundation of a beautiful friendship.

*Not really. Just in case you actually believed me about the whole BFF thing.

5 Comments

Filed under fame, Germany, Travel, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Derek’s New BFF

  1. Larry & Bev Brown

    Rachel and Derek,   You are truly children of Bev Brown.  This event reminded me of my MANY trips to downtown Detroit to catch glimpses of the Beatles, Dave Clark Five, Herman’s Hermits, etc.  So glad you got into the excitement of it all.  When my best friends and I went to see the Beatles’ first arrival in Detroit (who could even get tickets?), we were thinking like Derek.  We devised a 4′ X 8′ sign that had a picture and quotation from John Lennon’s book.  We figured that was much more mature than “WE LOVE YOU, JOHN!”   We weasled our way up to the front of the line, too, and were SURE that the Beatles saw the sign and would want to marry us.  Thanks for sharing your BFF moment.   Love, Mom

    ________________________________

    • Rachel

      Wow. The Beatles! And I’m sure John Lennon appreciated your maturity. 🙂 (But I must admit, I’m glad he didn’t marry you…otherwise, no Derek!)

  2. Larry & Bev Brown

    Rachel and Derek,   I did watch the Oscars last night thinking of you both.  What did you think of the results as you heard about them today?   Love, Mom

    ________________________________

    • Rachel

      Many of the awards went to the movies we expected them to. We actually woke up in the middle of the night and tried to find someone streaming the show, so we got to see Ellen hand out pizza and the Best Supporting Actress award, which was fun! Thanks for watching in our stead. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Recent Reads – March 4, 2014 | wert and art

Leave a Reply

