vintage art posters

I love the look of vintage travel posters!

Who’s with me?

(Don’t know what I’m talking about? Look here for some examples.)

There are obviously lots of us out there, because there are literally hundreds of vintage travel posters available on poster websites. And I’m here to tell you that posters aren’t just for college students anymore! No, sir. Pop those suckers in a nice frame (nice meaning from Michaels, with a 50% off coupon or sale, of course), and you’ve got the beginnings of a great entryway or vignette or behind the couch area. (By the way, does anyone else think we should create a term for that area? Lots of people talk about it. Maybe … see? I was going to try to come up with something but I can’t! It’s impossible to describe with one word.)

Of course my plan was to insert a photo of our entry way with said poster here, but I left my phone cord at home, and since we don’t have internet access at our house, I’ll have to upload it tomorrow. Yes, yes, I could just wait to publish this whole post until then, but then where would I be on my EDIM project? So come back for a picture tomorrow.

Update: Here it is! Yes, my photography needs work, but I’m working with the whole “something is better than nothing” idea:

IMG_3429

 

To prove I’ve actually been to the Duomo in Florence, here’s a photo of me (almost 8 years ago!) after the long, hot climb to the top (I’m on the left):

C 81 rachel, roberta, sarah and florence from el duomo (bell tower in back)

Also, I must say, I am all for original art, as well (my husband is a musician, after all), but until I find something I absolutely love that is at my price point, the vintage travel posters will do just fine.

(Speaking of traveling, Derek has been in touch with a development center in Uganda that teaches kids to play musical instruments, then helps their kids’ brass band book gigs which help them raise money to pay for their food and schooling. He’s already had 27 instruments donated, but the shipping costs are exorbitant, so he’s raising some funds. Obviously no pressure, but what kind of wife would I be if I didn’t add the link? So go here to learn more about the opportunity or to donate.)

And that ends our Public Service Announcement portion of the day.

Leave a comment

Filed under EDIM, Travel

Leave a Reply

