11-11-11

Today is probably the only time in my life when all the digits of the date are the same (if you don’t count the 20- part), so since my mom is here (and she is queen of unique date parties*), we hosted 11 guests and had 11 courses for a lunch that started at – you guessed it – 11:11. It was low-key and lots of fun.

Also, today is Veterans Day, which always gets me. I see the (mostly) old (mostly) gentlemen stand up to be recognized and get teary-eyed every time. I’m not usually overcome with pride for my country or anything like that, but the personification of sacrifice and selflessness in the military personnel reminds me of what it means to live for a cause bigger than oneself.

*There is such a thing, and to prove she’s the queen, for example: she had a zip code party on May 30, 1998 because we lived in Watertown, WI, where the zip code is 53098.

Leave a comment

Filed under InPoWriMo, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

