time-wasters

I’m procrastinating a bit on some homework right now, so what else to do than to share my favorite time wasters?

1. Pinterest. I spent some time scrolling through and clicking “see more pins” on Sat., but instead of doing any of the projects I tagged, I just went on scrolling. MLIA (see next time-waster).

2. My Life Is Average. A friend told me about this on Fri. night, and I love it. Especially going to the very last page to see the completely ordinary things people started by posting.

3. PostSecret. I wish they had more postcards up each week, as this “time-waster” only wastes about 4 min./week, but it’s fun anyway.

4. Facebook. Sometimes I feel like a creep for randomly thinking of a friend I haven’t seen in a while and then looking through all their photos and reading their info. and wall, but then I realize that’s what facebook is for and someone is probably doing the same thing to my profile.

5. What I like to call: The Trace. One thing (I like to think) I’ve learned in my literary theory course is that the deconstructionists believed that you could never get at the actual essence of something.* Instead, you’d explore one aspect only to have it break up before your eyes, which would cause you to focus on a part of that original aspect, which in turn would again break up, and over and over again ad infinitum. You never get at the “original” thing, but merely traces of it from the other things you’ve explored. So, what you do is begin with a blog you like to read. Open up a blog from the original blog’s blogroll and read until bored. Then open up some blogs from that blog’s blogroll and read until bored, and so on and so forth, ad infinitum.

That ought to keep you busy for a while. In the meantime, I’d better get cracking on this homework.

*I fully realize that this may not in fact be a correct interpretation of Derrida, but once I started writing it, I kind of liked the name “the trace” to describe the endless blog-link process, so it stays. Also, if you think you can actually articulate a “correct” interpretation of Derrida, what the heck are you doing reading this blog, you genius, you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

