MMM: Popcorn in my soup

My Mouth Misses (Episode 2): Popcorn in my Soup*

The summer after my freshman year of college, I had an amazing opportunity to go to Ecuador for three weeks. It was for a biology class, and there are so many memories from the experience I’m having a hard time narrowing it down to just one post. We spent eight days at a camp-like structure in the middle of the rainforest, we spent some time hanging out in and around Quito, and we spent a week sailing around and exploring the Galapagos Islands. It was amazing. But…more stories about those adventures another time: what I’d like to address right now is the great habit of folks who ran the “camp” in the rainforest who would serve our soup with popcorn in it. At the end of a long day of hiking, canoeing down the river, being pulleyed into a “treehouse” in the canopy of the rainforest and rappelling down, the inevitable first course of creamy, hot soup sprinkled with popcorn when we returned to our camp was more than welcome.

Popcorn in my soup was one of the many highlights of my Ecuador experience. The saltiness of the popcorn was a perfect addition to the bowl of homemade soup. The first few bites, the popcorn would still be a bit crunchy, but before long it became saturated and was more like a crouton-in-french-onion-soup consistency. As for replicating this culinary highlight of my travels, although it seems easy, I am sorry to say I have not yet attempted it. My foresight in cooking rarely goes past preparing one thing at a time, so since returning from Ecuador, I tend to eat my soup at dinner and my popcorn at the movies, but perhaps this post calls for a resurfacing… Then again, in the heat of summer in Texas…who wants to be eating hot soup anyway? I think I’ll wait until November.

*Yes, today is Tuesday.  Yes, yesterday was also one of the busiest days ever for me. Yes, I forgive you for getting uptight. Yes, I am also still only talking to myself as no one yet has this link.

1 Comment

Filed under MMM

One response to “MMM: Popcorn in my soup

  1. Pingback: goz leh what? | wert and art

Leave a Reply

