MMM: Sticky Toffee Pudding

On Mondays for the next few weeks (at least), I’d like to record various foods from favorite restaurants and places of the past that I don’t currently have access to but wish I did.

Hence, Issue #1 of My Mouth Misses: Sticky Toffee Pudding

My study abroad semester in Scotland the fall of my senior year in college introduced me to many things, one of the best being heaven in a dish.  STP (referring, in this post at least, to Sticky Toffee Pudding, not Stone Temple Pilots) is one of those foods that tastes infinitely better than it sounds.  Imagine a  moist cake oozing with toffee and topped with ice cream and heavy cream.  Here’s a picture to help your imagination:

heaven in a dish (this one's just missing the ice cream)

Also, FYI, when they ask you if you’d like it with ice cream or heavy cream, the correct answer is “both”.  Indeed, STP is not for the faint of heart.

My parents (who had never even had passports before) came to visit me in Scotland during that semester, and my dad especially shared my affinity for this dessert, and since they were technically on vacation, that was justification enough for the three of us to share some after every meal.  I’m surprised none of us keeled over after so much indulgence.  Perhaps the scotch evened things out?

Here’s a recipe from Martha Stewart, but I haven’t tried it, so no promises.  So far, none of the homemade recipes can hold a candle to the sticky toffee pudding I’ve had in the U.K., but a girl can dream, can’t she?

1 Comment

Filed under MMM

One response to “MMM: Sticky Toffee Pudding

  1. Pingback: goz leh what? | wert and art

Leave a Reply

