running

Week of Updates – Day 3

The marathon training is tentatively back on!

I went to a local race on Oct. 30 to cheer on some friends, and later that week talked with another White Rock hopeful, and in the midst of all of that, I decided that injury or no injury, I’ve come too far to chuck the training now.  So, for the last couple of weeks, I have been working out doing lower-impact exercises (spinning classes, running on the treadmill and the elliptical, etc.) and icing my foot afterwards.  I’ve been trying to get the equivalent of the mileage in, but for the long “runs,” that still has not been possible.  My goal this Sat. is to have 2.75 hours straight of exercise, just to remind my body of what that feels like.  I figure if I can do this, and do 3.5 hours the next Saturday, then I’ll be good to go.  I plan to run outside this evening, which I haven’t done for a few weeks, so I’m a bit nervous that my foot will be sore tomorrow, but I am hopeful!  And I will diligently ice and stretch tonight!

My only goal for the marathon is to finish and not die, so even if I have to walk the last few miles with ice packs on my legs (ala one of the Chilean miners who competed in the NYC marathon recently) and ibuprofen pumping through my veins, bring it on!

Leave a comment

Filed under InPoWriMo

Leave a Reply

