film festival

I just got back from the final of 3 screenings of a film festival in my town.  I wasn’t really sure what to expect on my way in, but through last night, this afternoon, and this evening, it’s safe to say that I was thoroughly entertained and impressed (as well as sometimes disturbed).  There was so much variety and so much imagination.  These 30 films dealt with a lot of issues, from childhood bullying to domestic disputes and alcoholism, but there were also uplifting stories, full of hope and possibility, about the triumph of compassion and beauty.

The following Blaise Pascal quote was in the program, and I found myself thinking about it as I watched:

“In faith there is enough light for those who want to believe, but enough shadows to blind those who don’t.”
And I’ll leave you to contemplate that for an extra hour tonight – don’t forget to change the clock!

Leave a comment

Filed under InPoWriMo

Leave a Reply

